Our history

Apostle and Bishop Mbewe Founders of Calvary Family Church International

Calvary Family Church International History

The history of Calvary Family Church dates back to the mid 70s when Apostle Mbewe, as a young man, led by the Spirit of God, started the Young Believers Fellowship (YBF) in Blantyre Malawi. This was one of the few ministries by then in Malawi, which was really Pentecostal in nature. Later in the 80s as the fellowship attracted both the young the old, the name changed to Pentecostal Revival Crusades (PRC) Ministries, to accommodate everyone. The PRC ministry spread in the major cities of Blantyre, Lilongwe and Mzuzu as well as other districts, meeting in schools and other rented premises generally in the afternoons of Sundays. The membership of PRC grew much by the day, comprising of ‘churched’ and non- churched members of the body of Christ.


After much prayer and consultation with the then leadership of PRC ministries, Apostle Mbewe, announced the intention to start church services to complement the interdenominational fellowship ministry. Following this development, a church, by the name of Calvary Family Church was launched in 1992. The first service was held on Sunday 12th January 1992 at Pemba building in Blantyre, with an average attendance of 12 people including women and children. The key verse was …………………., ‘DO NOT DESPISE THE DAYS OF SMALL BEGINNINGS’ - Zech 4:10.


Later on in subsequent years the church spread in almost all the centres which had PRC fellowship running. To date the church has enjoyed a steady growth and even crossed the borders of Malawi.


Branches in Malawi

      • Blantyre – Headquarters
      • Lilongwe
      • Mzuzu
      • Zomba
      • Mangochi
      • Nsanje
      • Balaka
      • Dedza
      • Karonga
      • Kasungu
      • Machinjiri
      • Lumbadzi
      • Mponela
      • Nkhata Bay
      • Monkey Bay
      • Ndilande
      • Bangwe
      • Chilomoni
      • Area 51
      • Area 36


      • Chitipa
      • Chikhwawa
      • Chiradzulu
      • Luchenza
      • Mwanza
      • Ntcheu
      • Chikwawa
      • Salima
      • Mulanje
      • Mayaka
      • Area 21
      • Kapsya
      • Lunzu
      • Bangula
      • Neno
      • Nkhotakota
      • Mzimba
      • Dowa
      • Ntchisi
      • Mchinji

(most of these centres have got smaller branches within the their areas, region or district).

Branches Outside Malawi

  1. Zimbabwe
  2. Mozambique
  3. South Africa
  4. United Kingdom.
  5. Tanzania
  6. Kenya